Electric Review

Culture & Criticism Since 2003

Autumn Audio 2013

Penguin Audio Banner

FLIGHT OF THE INTRUDER. Stephen Coonts. Brilliance Audio.

Flight of the Intruder stands as one of the twenty top-selling novels of all time. An instant classic that brings the Vietnam War and combat aviation alive, Coonts’ story is notable for its crisp pace and layered characters (namely Jake Grafton) who grab hold and refuse to let go. Read by Benjamin Darcie, whose rich voice serves as the perfect vehicle for this rock-em-sock-em action thriller.

ALL I NEED IS YOU (An Over the Edge Novel). Julia London. Brilliance Audio.

London’s book leaps and waltzes, this love story that is part soap opera and part modern-day tragedy. Readers will be intrigued by the raw reality that shapes the characters and by the plot that sheds its skin in layers. Cliched as it might sound, once you start listening you can’t stop. Expertly read by Renee Raudman, whose delivery aches with sensuality and intrigue.

PROTECTOR. Diana Palmer. Brilliance Audio. 

Set in Texas, Protector evokes Elmore Leonard’s world of true crime, following lawman Hayes Carson on his quest to find his brother’s killer. Along the way, we are introduced to a cadre of characters who, at their finest moments, reflect pieces of each of us. Read by Eric Dove.

RASPUTIN’S SHADOW. Raymond Khoury. Penguin Audio.

This historical novel is truly a thrill-a-minute ride. Set in a 1916 mining pit in the Ural Mountains, we’re enveloped by the scent of paranoia as the miners suddenly turn on each other and attack. And that’s only the beginning of the journey. Decades later, the search is on for why. But the answers are hardly easy in coming. Read by Richard Ferrone.

BLEEDING EDGE. Thomas Pynchon. Penguin Audio.

Bleeding EdgePynchon is a name synonymous with literary excellence – his novels fiery and wholly original, gutting to the core. And Bleeding Edge continues the grand Pynchon traditions: Deep and winding plot; even deeper characters. In this one, we find ourselves in New York City in the early days of the internet, moving stride-for-stride with Maxine Tarnow as she hunts down the frauds who populate the countryside. Read by Jeannie Berlin in a smoky cool vibrant tone.

EAT, PRAY, LOVE. Elizabeth Gilbert. Penguin Audio.

This memoir is about guts and walking-the-walk, as Gilbert leaves behind her safe and ostensibly successful life in the United States to explore the cultures of three different destinations – Italy, India and Indonesia. In the end, Eat, Pray, Love is about bliss and reflection, about the courage it takes to connect with yourself. It’s a story that’s certainly worth a long look. Read by the author.

by John Aiello


Talk to Rat:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on October 11, 2013 by in 2013, In the Spotlight, October 2013, Rat On Audiobooks and tagged , , .
In accordance with FTC Guidelines on blogging and product reviews, The Electric Review discloses that the books, records, DVDS and other products reviewed are submitted to us by publishers, record labels, publicity firms, artists, manufacturers and creators free of charge. The Electric Review further states that these entities and individuals submit materials to us of their own volition and understand that the submission of material is for discretionary consideration by the Editor and is not to be construed as to be in ‘exchange’ for a review.
The Electric Review does not serve as a ‘for-hire’ advertising vehicle and the submission of material for review creates no agreement either express or implicit requiring us to provide comment on a book, record, film, product or event. In sum, The Electric Review accepts no payment for the publication of a review. Instead, commentary is published as a free public service with reviews based solely on merit and the lasting classroom or cultural value of a given work: this compendium of essays meant to serve as an electronic library and on-going teaching resource surveying the 21st-century landscape.
Website copyright: John Aiello & The Electric Review. All rights reserved.
Violations of this notice are subject to sanction under United States Code: Title 17.
Reproduction of material from any Electric Review pages without the written permission of John Aiello or the named author is strictly prohibited.
%d bloggers like this: