Electric Review

Culture & Criticism Since 2003

In the Audio Corner

IRRITABLE HEARTS. Mac McClelland. Brilliance Audio.

Irritable Hearts

Cover courtesy of Brilliance Audio.

During the past 20 years, society has finally come to see Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) as a very real affliction with very real effects. In Irritable Hearts, human rights reporter Mac McClelland discovers firsthand the fragility of the human psyche, discovering how painful it is when the mind starts to feed off itself. In 2010, McClelland returned home after working on assignment in Haiti covering the aftermath of a lethal earthquake. But the story didn’t end when she returned to the states. Instead, it was only just beginning as the journalist found herself in a state of emotional upheaval: unable sleep or rest, crying for no discernible reason. As a victim of PTSD, McClelland sets out to regain her balance by approaching the illness like a story – delving to its core, disarming it layer by layer. Make your way through Irritable Hearts and it becomes apparent that this is not just an affliction reserved for the battlefield or for rape victims. Instead, as McClelland shows us, PTSD can strike anywhere at anytime; no man or woman is immune to its insatiable tentacles. Irritable Hearts is not necessarily ‘fun’ to read. But thanks to McClelland’s guts in stepping out and reporting on herself, we now have a real-time guidebook on how to confront the masks being worn by our own demons. Read by Cassandra Campbell.

Also worth a listen this quarter from Brilliance Audio:

  • THE UP SIDE OF DOWN. Megan McArdle. Brilliance Audio. This one shows us that success is not attainable unless it grows from the great thirsty gardens of failure.

  • IS SHAME NECESSARY. Jennifer Jacquet. Brilliance Audio. No one likes to be embarrassed. And most people can’t bear to live in shame. Here, Jacquet dissects the social nature of shame with insight and understanding in a book that teaches without ever rising to lecture.

by John Aiello


Talk to Rat:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on March 11, 2015 by in 2015, In the Spotlight, March 2015, Rat On Audiobooks and tagged , , .
In accordance with FTC Guidelines on blogging and product reviews, The Electric Review discloses that the books, records, DVDS and other products reviewed are submitted to us by publishers, record labels, publicity firms, artists, manufacturers and creators free of charge. The Electric Review further states that these entities and individuals submit materials to us of their own volition and understand that the submission of material is for discretionary consideration by the Editor and is not to be construed as to be in ‘exchange’ for a review.
The Electric Review does not serve as a ‘for-hire’ advertising vehicle and the submission of material for review creates no agreement either express or implicit requiring us to provide comment on a book, record, film, product or event. In sum, The Electric Review accepts no payment for the publication of a review. Instead, commentary is published as a free public service with reviews based solely on merit and the lasting classroom or cultural value of a given work: this compendium of essays meant to serve as an electronic library and on-going teaching resource surveying the 21st-century landscape.
Website copyright: John Aiello & The Electric Review. All rights reserved.
Violations of this notice are subject to sanction under United States Code: Title 17.
Reproduction of material from any Electric Review pages without the written permission of John Aiello or the named author is strictly prohibited.
%d bloggers like this: